Finding Time to be a Work -at-Home Mom

I am a stay-at-home Mom, who feels like a single parent to my three wonderful children. My Husband works insane hours and is never home on weekends due to his schedule. Thus leaving me to be the literal Mom-Taxi!  But wait! There’s more –  I am also a work-at-home Mom, as I own my own business –

K. A. Handmade.

This will all soon become MORE complicated as we are adding a second business to the mix!

What do I do, you ask?  Well, I design and create handmade costumes, clothing, home decor and plushies, your wish is my inspiration! I have been doing this since I was in middle school when I learned how to sew.

Now, as you can imagine, trying to do all this along with taking care of a family of five and three dogs, is no easy task. How do I create 30 costumes, shuffle the kids to three separate schools-(no buses!), get them to practice, play dates, shop for groceries, clean the house, do the laundry and walk the dogs??  Holy Cow! I have no idea!!

Organization and cooperation are the key, even though I don’t always feel that my life is organized.  It is also by teaching my children to be self-sufficient – wish I could teach my husband that one!! LOL!
They make their own lunches, are responsible for putting their own clothing in the laundry bins because I do NOT search for dirty clothes. Who would want to do that? It means more work after all! They wanted the dogs, so they are responsible for taking care of them. They clean their own rooms and bathrooms and since I do the cooking – they do the dishes. I mean, what are kids for if not to take a load off? Right?

Seriously, my goal here is to raise responsible adults that have a good work ethic and can take care of themselves. At the same time I am hoping that they will pick -up on  my entrepreneuring spirit by watching me create a business from something I love to do.

I find that if I get up an hour before my family, then I can get myself organized for the day and once I am organized, then everything runs much smoother. I generally have five hours between the time I  drop off the last child at her school- before I have to pick up my oldest and get him to practice. Once we are all home (two hours later- traffic -URG! ) It’s homework time while I prepare dinner. Luckily, the older two do not need much help with their homework, thank God! I am no math whiz!! Once dinner is done I go right back to my studio, which is right off the living room, so I am accessible, but in my zone. When my husband comes home I sit with him while he eats his dinner and we share our day. Then, if I am on a deadline, I go back to my studio. Weekends are another story!
I usually have more time on weekends – until racing season begins! Did I mention my boys are in Crew? Not familiar with it? Ever seen the movie “Varsity Blues” or “The Social Network”? Well being a part of Crew is NOT an activity- it is a way of life! In our house, it has become a year long – life long sport / obsession!!

Regatta Oars

When racing season begins we generally have a race every Saturday, which is a day-long event.  I’m talking 5:00 am to 6:00 pm! In ANY kind of weather, they are more determined than your postman!! The more prestigious races involve many states or regions and are whole weekend affairs.

How do I work with this, you ask? I prepare whatever must be done on the sewing machine and save the hand-work for these days; Buttons, hand stitching, embroidery, crocheting, stuffing and paperwork are saved for ‘race days’ where I sit under a tent in my fold up chair with my sewing bag next to me and my binoculars around my neck  waiting for my sons’ races to begin.

CREW!

I have been seen hand sewing the lace cuffs on the Mad Hatter Costume.

The Mad Hatter!

Hand appliqueing the ‘E’ on a Crew blanket  for a team member. Crocheting flowers to add to a repurposed denim skirt. Stuffing a Coraline doll and sewing her limbs on.

This has actually been a great advertisement for my business, as the other parents arrive currious to see what I will be working on that day. I practice this at other places as well, such as,  doctors’  appointments, the dentist’s office, and the dreaded car maintenance appointments. I’ll say it again, this has been a boost to my business as it is a great conversation starter and people are always curious about what I am making. Where there is a will there is a way, and if there is ANY block of time that my hands are free- I will fill them!

This summer my husband has bought me a new Mac-Book Pro laptop, as we will soon open a new business. Now, I can take that with me as well! (Not sure if that’s such a good thing or not!)

By the way, that new business I mentioned?  It’s LotusMade.com.  You’ve heard it mentioned here for the past several weeks, as we have divulged details about a new E-commerce handmade web-site. We are getting closer to our launch date and SO excited to present to the public a fresh, personal experience in an on-line venue for handmade Artists of all types and a pleasure for shoppers world-wide!  Keep reading our posts and be the first to know when we launch LotusMade.com!

As my daily schedule fills up even more, I find new places to create and fulfill God’s purpose for my life.

Kerry ♥♥♥

Comments

  1. My parents wouldn’t, luckily by the time I was in High school we lived close enouph to walk or ride my bike, as I was in the Thespians club and plays at school. So I decided early on I would do this for my kids!! What I didn’t get to state in the article and maybe will write about later – My kids are becoming involoved in my biz, my oldest will do a lot of the cutting- and is good at it. I purchased a little sewing machine for my daughter at Christmas and am teaching her the basics at thia time, mostly ‘sock creatures”.

Leave a Reply

